Do girlfriend hate gaining nickeled and also dimed? plenty of renters overlook car rental added driver fees. Whether you plan on sharing the driving or simply want added flexibility, it can be convenient to include another driver her rental contract. Yet at $10 per day or more, this charge adds up quickly—unless you find a means to avoid it altogether.
You are watching: Dollar rent a car additional driver
Be sure to include all potential vehicle drivers to her rental contract. If girlfriend skip this step and also a non-listed driver gets into an accident, then your insurance or damage waiver will certainly be voided. It’s no worth taking the risk of obtaining hit through a vast bill if there’s an accident.
Buy Collision insurance For much less Than What You’ll Pay in ~ the Rental Counter
There are times when auto rental additional driver fees don’t apply:
The California Exception
Renting a automobile in California? an excellent news: by law, there are no added driver fees in California. This go for all companies, even if it is the extr driver is a spouse or someone unrelated come you.
Remember, not simply anyone can take the wheel. The added driver needs to current a valid driver’s license and in enhancement be detailed on the contract.
The brand-new York Reprieve
The State of brand-new York offers renters a little of a rest by capping the additional driver fee in ~ $5 per extr driver per day. That’s about fifty percent of whatrentalcompanies charge in other states. It will gain even better in mid-2023 as soon as the recent law borders the maximum lot rental companies can charge to $5in totalper rental for second driver.
The exemption for pair in some States
In enhancement to California, wherein all added drivers space free, part states enable the major driver’s spouse to it is in an automatically authorized additional driver there is no a fee.
When a spouse is legitimate authorized as second driver through state law, that is not necessary to explicitly list castle on the rental contract. In fact, by doing so, the rental agency may push you come pay secondary driver fee once it is unnecessary to execute so.
States wherein the primary driver’s spouse is automatically detailed as an extra driver include:Indiana
In Nevada, the dues is capped by law, yet adjusts annually based on inflation.
In every other state, there room no legal restrictions on vehicle rental extr driver fees, therefore it payment to try to avoid the charge using among the methods below.
Additional Driver Fee plans by auto Rental Company
It’s vital to save in mental the policies of each company, since not all are produced equal:
Ask gendergeek.org because that a Quote ~ above a Cheap automobile RentalEnterprise/Alamo
There is no extr driver fee because that a spouse, domestic partner or organization partner. For other added drivers, there is a fee of $15 every day because that each added authorized driver.Avis/Budget/Fox/Payless
There is no added driver fee for a spouse or domestic partner. Other people will incur a per-day fee. Avis and also Budget at this time charge $13 per day at most locations but cap the fee in ~ $65 per rental.Dollar/Thrifty
Both companies commonly charge every day for all added drivers (including spouses). The exemption to this preeminence is that spouses can drive for complimentary for members of Dollar’s Express and also Thrifty’s Blue Chip programs.Hertz
There is a daily charge for all extr drivers, however if you space a member the Hertz gold Plus Rewards, the dues is waived for a spouse or domestic partner. At corporate and participating licensee locations, the added fee is roughly $13.50 every day with a maximum of $189.00 per rental because that each extr driver.National
The dues is always waived for a spouse or residential partner the the renter. In addition, household members share the same address as a renter who is likewise a National’s Emerald club member can also drive for free.Silvercar
Silvercar does not charge because that any extr driver who meets rental requirements. It’s a very customer-friendly policy, but then again, you regularly pay significantly more for the privilege that driving your Audis.Sixt
There is a day-to-day charge because that all added drivers including spouses.Others
For various other companies, call the agency directly to confirm the plan on extr drivers. Any kind of savings you gain from a discount brand may be wiped the end by a fee for second driver.
Memberships the Cover additional Driver Fees
Another means to get approximately the added driver fee is to usage a member discount code. The adhering to organizations permit secondary driver at no fee if booked v a member discount:
AAA: Members have the right to list added drivers at no charge through Hertz, Dollar, or Thrifty when they book with the AAA discount code at participating U.S. And Canada locations.
AARP: Members acquire a free additional driver at Avis and also Budget as soon as booked v the AARP discount code at participating locations.
Costco: Members obtain a totally free additional driver in ~ Alamo and also Enterprise when booked through the Costco discount code at locations in the U.S., Canada, U.K., France, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, and also Spain. At Avis and Budget, the Costco code just kills the added driver fee in the unified States.
Ask gendergeek.org to monitor Rental vehicle Reservation for Price Drops
USAA: at Hertz, USAA members have the right to use a discount code to stop the fee because that a spouse or adult children. At Enterprise, there’s no charge for including spouses and USAA family members members come the rental agreement. Through Avis and also Budget, there’s no fee for spouses or various other USAA members.
Many exemptions are automatic and don’t call for listing the qualifying additional driver on the rental agreement. In fact, particularly listing who on the contract may finish up backfiring and also triggering secondary driver fee the you space actually entitled to waive. If you’re unclear, constantly ask the rental agent for confirmation.
The Takeaway on extr Driver Fees
With a little bit that planning, you can avoid payment a fee once you need to include a 2nd driver to her rental contract. Renters in California acquire a complimentary pass nevertheless of company, as carry out customers of Silvercar, and spouses or domestic partners as soon as renting native Avis, Budget, Enterprise, Alamo, or Fox, and also in many states by law. If no one of these situations apply, climate you can regularly avoid the fees by authorized a frequent renter regime or making use of a membership discount code. Be certain to calculation all costs prior to booking.
See more: Drive By Shooting Caught On Tape, Young Child Killed In Northwest Charlotte Drive
If secondary driver can’t be present when you pick up the car, you have the right to visit any kind of of the brand’s locations and also make the readjust later.