Currently, 29 states and D.C. Have actually minimum wages above the commonwealth minimum fairy of $7.25 per hour.
You are watching: Did minimum wage go up in michigan
Five states have actually not embraced a state minimum wage: Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, southern Carolina and also Tennessee. 2 states, Georgia and Wyoming, have a minimum wage listed below $7.25 per hour. In all 7 of this states, the federal minimum fairy of $7.25 every hour applies.2020 HighlightsTwenty-one states started 2020 with greater minimum wages. Seven says (Alaska, Florida, Minnesota, Montana, Ohio, southern Dakota, and Vermont) automatically increased your rates based upon the cost of living, if 14 states (Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, new Jersey, brand-new Mexico, brand-new York, and Washington) raised their rates due to previously approved law or ballot initiatives.2019HighlightsEighteen states began the brand-new year with higher minimum wages. Eight claims (Alaska, Florida, Minnesota, Montana, brand-new Jersey, Ohio, southern Dakota and also Vermont) instantly increased your rates based on the cost of living, if 10 claims (Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Maine, Massacusetts, Missouri, brand-new York, Rhode Island and also Washington) enhanced their rates due to previously approved regulation or ballot initiatives. Various other states that will certainly see rate increases during the2019 calendar yearinclude D.C., Delaware, Michiganand Oregon.2018 HighlightsEighteen states began the brand-new year with higher minimum wages.Eight says (Alaska, Florida, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, brand-new Jersey, Ohioand south Dakota) immediately increased your rates based on the expense of living, when eleven says (Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Maine, Michigan, new York, Rhode Island, Vermont and also Washington) enhanced their rates due to previously approved legislation or ballot initiatives. 2017HighlightsNineteen states started 2017with higher minimum wages. Seven states (Alaska, Florida, Missouri, Montana, new Jersey, Ohio and also South Dakota) immediately increased their rates based upon the cost of living, five states (Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Maine and Washington) enhanced their rates through ballot efforts previously authorized by voters, and also seven claims (California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, brand-new York and also Vermont) go so as a an outcome of regulation passed in prior sessions. Washington D.C., Maryland and also Oregonraised their particular minimum salaries on July 1, 2017 as result of previously enacted legislation.2016HighlightsVoters in Arizona, Colorado, Maineand Washington authorized November ballot measures to advanced their particular minimum wages. Arizona, Coloradoand Maine will incrementally increasetheir minimum incomes to $12 an hour by 2020. Washington's will be boosted incrementally to $13.50 one hour through 2020.New York came to be the second state to pass a new law that would raise the minimum fairy in brand-new York City come $15 per hour through the end of 2018. Washington D.C. Followed suit, it spreads widespread a legislation to progressive the minimum fairy in the district to $15 per hour through July 1, 2020.On April 4, California governor Jerry Brown signed SB 3 into law.The brand-new law boosts the minimum fairy to $15 every hour by Jan.1, 2022, for employers v 26 or much more employees.For employers v 25 or under employees the minimum wage will certainly reach $15 every hour by Jan.1, 2023.Increases may be paused through the governor if particular economic or budgetary problems exist. Start the an initial Jan.1 ~ the minimum wage reaches $15 per hour for smaller sized employers, the minimum wage is indexed every year for inflation.On in march 23, branch Kenneth Mapp the the Virgin islands signed act 7856, creating an $8.35 minimum wage v scheduledannual rises on June 1, 2017, and also 2018 until the price reaches $10.50. On march 2, Oregon governor Kate Brown signed SB 1532 right into law. The establishesa collection of yearly minimum wage increases from July 1, 2016, through July 1, 2022. Start July 1, 2023, the minimum wage price will be indexing to inflation based upon the consumer Price Index.Fourteen states begin the brand-new year with greater minimum wages. Of those, 12 states raised their rates through legislation passed in the 2014 or 2015 sessions, while two states automatically increased your rates based upon the price of living.Of the 11states that currently tie rises to the expense of living, eight did not rise their minimum wage rates for 2016. Colorado provided for one 8-cent increase and South Dakota granted a 5-cent boost per hour. Rises in Nevada are required to take effect in July.Maryland, Minnesota and also D.C. Have added increases booked for 2016. Nevada will announce in July even if it is or not there will certainly be a cost of living boost to your indexed minimum wage.
State Minimum Wages
The table listed below reflects existing state minimum wages in result as that Jan. 1, 2021, and future spreading increases.
|Alaska||$10.34||Indexed yearly increases beginJan. 1, 2017. (2014 ballot measure)|
|American Samoa||varies 1|
|Arizona||$12.15||Rate enhanced annually based on cost that living start Jan. 2021 (2016 ballot measure)|
Indexed annual increases basedon CPIbeginJan. 1, 2023
Rate boosted annually based on cost the living beginning Jan. 1 2021 (2016 ballot measure)
Indexed annual increases based on the employment price index start January 1, 2024
Indexed yearly increases based on CPIbegin July 1, 2021
Annual increase based cost of living. (Constitutional modification 2004)
Indexed yearly increases based upon CPIbegin jan 1, 2021
*2021 wage boost delayed; see408.934(2) the Public act 337 the 2018, together amended.
Indexed annual increases beginJan. 1, 2018.
Minimum wage raised or reduced by cost of living beginning Jan. 1, 2024. (2018ballot measure)
Increases done annually based on the CPI and effective Jan. 1 of the adhering to year. (2006 ballot measure)
Increases topic to the commonwealth minimum wage and consumer price index. Increases take result July 1. (Constitutional modification 2004/2006).
Indexed yearly increases based upon the CPI beginning 2025. (2019 legislation)
|Northern Mariana Islands||$7.25|
Indexed annual increases based upon the CPI. (Constitutional revised 2006)
Indexed yearly increases based upon the CPIare efficient July 1, 2023 (2016 legislation)
Annual indexed increases beginJan. 1, 2016. (2014 ballot measure.)
Beginning Jan. 1, 2019, minimum fairy increased every year by 5% or the CPI, whichever is smaller; it cannot decrease. Note: Vermont started indexing in 2007 however enacted additional increases in 2014.(2014 legislation)
Annual indexing increases started Jan. 1, 2020. (ballot measure up 2016)
1American Samoa: The same Minimum wage Act the 2007 (Public law 110-28) set minimum wage rates within American Samoa and provides for added increases in the minimum fairy of $0.50 per hour annually on may 25, until reaching the minimum wage normally applicable in the joined States. The wage rates are collection for certain industries, no for an employee's particular occupation. The prices are minimum rates; an employee may pick to pay an employee at a rate higher than the rate(s) because that its industry.
3Connecticut: The Connecticut minimum wage rate instantly increases to 1/2 that 1 percent above the rate set in the fair Labor requirements Act if the commonwealth minimum fairy rate equals or becomes greater than the State minimum.
4Illinois:Employers through 50 or fewer permanent employees room eligible for a taxation credit equal to a certain percentage the the cost of their annual wage increases. Labor are only eligible because that the credit transaction if the mean wage because that employees do $55,000 or less increases over the year. The lot of the credit transaction that can be declared is as follows: 25 percent because that the 2020 reporting period; 21 percent for 2021; 17 percent because that 2022; 13 percent because that 2023; 9 percent for 2024; 5 percent because that 2025; 5 percent because that 2026; 5 percent for 2027, but only for employers v no an ext than five employees.
5The Maine minimum wage is automatically replaced with the commonwealth minimum wage price if that is higher than the State minimum.
7The Massachusetts minimum wage rate instantly increases come 10 cents above the rate set in the fair Labor criter Act if the commonwealth minimum wage equates to or becomes higher than the State minimum.
8Minnesota: through the passage of H.B. 2091 (2014), the annual sales volume threshold was diminished to $500,000. For big employers, with an annual sales volume the $500,000 or more, the minimum fairy is at this time $9.50; for little employers, those v an yearly sales volume of much less than $500,000, the minimum wage is $7.75.
9Missouri - In addition to the exemption for federally covered employment, the regulation exempts, amongst others, employees of a retail or service business with gross yearly sales or company done of much less than $500,000.
10Montana: the $4.00 rate applies to businesses with gross yearly sales that $110,000 or less; $8.15 uses to every others.
11Nevada: $8.25 without health and wellness benefits; $7.25 with health benefits.
13New York:The new minimum wage varies across the state based upon geographical place and, in new York City, employer size.
|Dec. 31, 2017||$13||$12||$11|
|Dec. 31, 2017||$15||$13.50||$12|
|Dec. 31, 2017||--||$15||$13|
|Dec. 31, 2017||--||--||$14|
|Dec. 31, 2017||--||--||$15|
14Ohio: $7:25 because that employers grossing $299,000 or less
15Oklahoma: job of ten or more full-time employee at any kind of one location and also employers with yearly gross sales over $100,000 irrespective of number of full-time employees room subject to commonwealth minimum wage; all others space subject come state minimum fairy of $2.00 (OK ST T. 40 § 197.5).
16Oregon:In addition to the new standard minimum fairy rate, SB 1532 sets the end a higher rate because that employers located in the urban growth boundary, and a reduced rate for employers situated in nonurban counties. Their respective planned rises are below.
|July 1, 2016||$9.75||$9.50|
|July 1, 2017||$11.25||$10|
|July 1, 2018||$12||$10.50|
|July 1, 2019||$12.50||$11|
|July 1, 2020||$13.25||$11.50|
|July 1, 2021||$14||$12|
|July 1, 2022||$14.75||$12.50|
|July 1, 2023||$1.25 over traditional minimum wage||$1 listed below standard minimum wage|
17Puerto Rico: Employers extended by the commonwealth Fair Labor standards Act (FLSA) room subject to the federal minimum fairy of $7.25. Job not covered by the FLSA will certainly be topic to a minimum wage the is at the very least 70 percent the the federal minimum fairy or the applicable causing obligation decree price of $5.08, whichever is higher. The Secretary of Labor and also Human Resources may authorize a rate based upon a lower percentage for any employer who can show that implementation the the 70 percent price would considerably curtail employed staff in the business.
Other ExceptionsMissouri, Oklahoma, Texas, Puerto Rico, Utahand Virginia exclude from coverage any type of employment that is subject to the commonwealth Fair Labor standards Act.
See more: Tweet Stack: Did Saved By The Bell Cast Really Sing Ing On Saved By The Bell?
Hawaii, Kansasand Michigan exclude from coverage any type of employment the is topic to the federal Fair Labor requirements Act, if the State fairy is higher than the commonwealth wage.The Georgia state minimum wage is $5.15. Employees spanned under the commonwealth Fair Labor requirements Act are subject come the commonwealth minimum wage of $7.25, however those not spanned under the FLSA might be payment the state minimum fairy of $5.15.